Fire Season

Field Notes from a Wilderness Lookout
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (8.58 hours)
Product Number: Z100096175
Released: Jun 21, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781481571142
Narrator/s: Sean Runnette
Please log in to view pricing

Description

In the tradition of Desert Solitaire and Shop Class as Soulcraft, this is a remarkable debut from a major new voice in American nonfiction-a meditation on nature and life, witnessed from the heights of one of the last fire-lookout towers in America. For nearly a decade, Philip Connors has spent half of each year in a seven-by-seven foot fire-lookout tower, ten thousand feet above sea level in one of the most remote territories of New Mexico. One of the least developed parts of the country, the first region designated as an official wilderness area in the world, the section he tends is also one of the most fire-prone, suffering more than thirty thousand lightning strikes each year. Written with gusto, charm, and a sense of history, Fire Season captures the wonder and grandeur of this most unusual job and place: the eerie pleasure of solitude, the strange dance of communion and mistrust with its animal inhabitants, and the majesty, might, and beauty of untamed fire at its wildest. Connors' time up on the peak is filled with drama-there are fires large and small; spectacular midnight lightning storms and silent mornings awakening above the clouds; surprise encounters with long-distance hikers, smokejumpers, bobcats, black bears, and an abandoned, dying fawn. Filled with Connors' heartfelt reflections on our place in the wild, on other writers who have worked as lookouts-Jack Kerouac, Edward Abbey, Norman Maclean, Gary Snyder-and on the ongoing debate over whether fires should be suppressed or left to burn, Fire Season is a remarkable homage to the beauty of nature, the blessings of solitude, and the freedom of the independent spirit. As Connors writes, "I've seen lunar eclipses and desert sandstorms and lightning that made my hair stand on endI've watched deer and elk frolic in the meadow below me and pine trees explode in a blue ball of smoke. If there's a better job anywhere on the planet, I'd like to know what it is."

x-large
Author(s): Philip Connors
Genre: Science
Original Publish Date: Apr 05, 2011

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Philip Connors
Narrator(s): Sean Runnette
Genre: Science
Product Number DD1963
Released: Mar 10, 2011
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781441782137
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Philip Connors
Product Number EB00233763
Released: Mar 17, 2014
Business Term: 26 Circ
ISBN: #9780062078902

Professional reviews

""Smoke and flames make people nervous," writes Philip Connors. For this reason, in part, the U.S. Forest Service deploys a near-mythical professional to deal with the problem: the solitary ranger who lives alone for months in a tiny fire station cabin. Connors, who has been stationed for the last eight fire seasons in the Gila Wilderness (the rest of the time he tends bar in New Mexico), provides four strands to his story: (1) a personal memoir detailing his attraction to the job, (2) the history of forest preservation, (3) sketches of others who have served in the job, and (4) details about the science of finding and fighting forest fires. Narrator Sean Runnette provides a relaxed reading that emphasizes the Zen qualities of the job. The resulting audiobook should appeal to armchair rangers (and closet pyromaniacs). R.W.S. (c) AudioFile 2011, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter