Author(s): Pamela Sargent
Series: Seed Series No: 1
Original Publish Date: Nov 11, 2011
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (7.87 hours)
Product Number: Z100128407
Released: Aug 25, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781481572163
Narrator/s: Amy Rubinate
Please log in to view pricing


Ship hurtles through space. Deep within its core it carries the seed of humankind. Launched by the people of a dying Earth over a century ago, its mission is to find a habitable world for the children-fifteen-year-old Zoheret and her shipmates-whom it has created from its genetic banks. To Zoheret and her shipmates, Ship has been mother, father, and loving teacher, preparing them for their biggest challenge: to survive on their own, on an uninhabited planet, without Ship's protection. Now that day is almost upon them, but are they ready? Ship devises a test, and suddenly instincts that have been latent for over a hundred years take over. Zoheret watches as friends become strangers-and enemies. Can Zoheret and her companions overcome the biggest obstacle to the survival of the human race-themselves?

All formats/editions

Author(s): Pamela Sargent
Narrator(s): Amy Rubinate
Product Number DD4232
Released: Dec 01, 2011
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781455118335

Professional reviews

"Twenty-nine years after the original publication in print, Amy Rubinate's performance of EARTHSEED justifies the wait. Born in space and raised by Ship's mind core, Zoheret and dozens of other 15-year-olds will soon seed a new planet with human life. Rubinate imbues each character with a personality that enhances the dynamic and carefully crafted interpersonal conflicts of the characters. Zoheret's voice begins soft and meek but tightens and grows cold with cruel experience. Ship's computer voice is stilted yet compelling, a testament to Rubinate's skill. The third-person point of view, with diction halfway between computerized and human, is an inspired choice that hints at the story's conclusion and resonates with its themes of evolution and free will. A.M.P. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award (c) AudioFile 2012, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter