Defiant

The POWs Who Endured Vietnam's Most Infamous Prison, the Women Who Fought for Them, and the One Who Never Returned
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (14.78 hours)
Product Number: Z100067588
Released: Feb 04, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781482958706
Narrator/s: Joe Barrett
Please log in to view pricing

Description

The story of the indomitable American POWs who endured "Alcatraz," the Hanoi prison camp where North Vietnam locked its most dangerous and subversive prisoners, and the wives who fought to bring them home During the Vietnam War, hundreds of American prisoners of war faced years of brutal conditions and horrific torture at the hands of communist interrogators who ruthlessly plied them for military intelligence and propaganda. Determined to maintain their code of conduct, the inmates of the Hanoi Hilton and other POW camps developed a powerful underground resistance. To quash it, the North Vietnamese singled out its eleven leaders, Vietnam's own "dirty dozen," and banished them to an isolated jail that would become known as Alcatraz. None would leave its solitary cells and interrogation rooms unscathed; one would never leave. As these men suffered in Hanoi, their wives launched an extraordinary campaign that would ultimately spark the POW/MIA movement. When the survivors finally returned, one would receive the Medal of Honor, another became a US senator, and a third still serves in congress. A story of survival and triumph in the vein of Unbroken and Band of Brothers, Defiant will inspire anyone wondering how courage, faith, and brotherhood can endure even in the darkest of situations.

x-large
Author(s): Alvin Townley
Original Publish Date: Feb 04, 2014

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Alvin Townley
Narrator(s): Joe Barrett
Product Number DD10363
Released: Feb 04, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781482958683
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Alvin Townley
Product Number EB00587859
Released: Nov 13, 2014
Business Term: 52 Circ / 730 Day
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
ISBN: #9781250037619

Sign up for our email newsletter