Guy in Real Life

CD - unabridged
Audio (8 discs)
Product Number: DD12558
Released: May 27, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781483004525
Please log in to view pricing

Description

From the acclaimed author of Brooklyn, Burning comes Guy in Real Life, an achingly real and profoundly moving love story in the vein of Rainbow Rowell and John Green, about two Minnesota teens whose lives become intertwined through school, role-playing games, and a chance two-a.m. bike accident.It is Labor Day weekend in Saint Paul, Minnesota, and boy and girl collide on a dark street at two thirty in the morning: Lesh, who wears black, listens to metal, and plays MMOs; Svetlana, who embroiders her skirts, listens to BjOrk and Berlioz, and dungeon masters her own RPG. They should pick themselves up, continue on their way, and never talk to each other again.But they don't.This is a story of the roles we all play-at school, at home, online, and with our friends-and the one person who might be able to show us who we are underneath it all.

x-large
Author(s): Steve Brezenoff

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Steve Brezenoff
Product Number Z100081775
Released: May 27, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
ISBN: #9780062324344
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Steve Brezenoff
Product Number EB00231157
Released: May 27, 2014
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
ISBN: #9780062266859

Professional reviews

"Narrators MacLeod Andrews and Arielle DeLisle both shine in this smart and funny coming-of-age story. High school students Lesh and Svetlana enjoy role-playing games. Metalhead Lesh lets peer pressure get the best of him. Creative Svetlana is a dreamer and happy in her own skin. The story doesnÕt simply alternate between Lesh and Svetlana; it also shows the points of view of the characters they role-play. This is delightfully silly as listeners hear Andrews performing as both a huge ogre with a deep, gruff voice and an ethereal female elf with breathless enthusiasm. BrezenoffÕs book captures the confusion about identity that many teens feel. DeLisleÕs performance is charming and confident while AndrewsÕs is top-notch, breathing life into ogres, elves, boys, and girls alike. G.D. © AudioFile 2014, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter