Author(s): John Updike
Original Publish Date: Jul 01, 2014
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (0.47 hours)
Product Number: Z100083983
Released: Jul 22, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781483045993
Narrator/s: Peter Van Norden
Please log in to view pricing


The Maples Stories consists of eighteen classic stories from across John Updike's career, forming a luminous chronicle of the life and times of one marriage in all its rich emotional complexity. In 1956, Updike published the story "Snowing in Greenwich Village," about a young couple, Joan and Richard Maple, at the beginning of their marriage. Over the next two decades, he returned to these characters again and again, tracing their years together raising children, finding moments of intermittent happiness, and facing the heartbreak of infidelity and estrangement. "Separating," the fourteenth story in the collection, details the Maples' decision to part ways, their pragmatism about the split concealing their underlying emotions as they struggle to relate the news to their four nearly-grown children.