Author(s): Brian Freeman
Series: Jonathan Stride Mysteries Series No: 3
Original Publish Date: Jan 01, 2007
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (12.98 hours)
Product Number: Z100097346
Released: Jun 21, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781483057040
Narrator/s: Joe Barrett
Please log in to view pricing


Lieutenant Jonathan Stride knows his partner, Maggie Bei, is in trouble when she reports a deadly crime on a bitter winter night. She's obviously hiding a terrible secret, and her silence only feeds suspicion. But Maggie isn't the only one keeping secrets in Duluth. A seductive young woman has disappeared, leaving behind a stash of lurid fantasies and a cryptic message: “I know who it is.” Following a twisted trail, Stride uncovers a sordid web of violence and voyeurism that someone is willing to kill for in order to keep hidden. His lover, Serena Dial, a homicide cop turned private investigator, is chasing a blackmailer who knows all the city's dirty secrets, even Maggie's. But as Stride and Serena hunt for a killer, a predator is hunting them, with a terrifying plan for revenge.

All formats/editions

Author(s): Brian Freeman
Product Number EB00010071
Released: Feb 19, 2008
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781429929905

Professional reviews

"The world is a dark and brooding place, filled with sexual fantasies and disturbed individuals dead set on fulfilling them at any cost, even death. This is the setting for Brian Freeman's latest novel, which centers on Investigator Jonathan Stride and his search for answers in the winter-ravaged city of Duluth, Minnesota. Narrator Joe Barrett steps into this world with a large palette of voices and accents but ventures too far over the line of believability. Barrett's overenunciated and overacted characterizations take the honesty out of Freeman's atmospheric thriller. Listeners will be disappointed with the performance of this otherwise captivating novel. L.B. (c) AudioFile 2008, Portland, Maine"