eAudio - unabridged
Audio (14.22 hours)
Product Number: Z100097532
Released: Jun 21, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781483063928
Please log in to view pricing


Arthur is king, but treachery runs rampant throughout the beleaguered Isle of the Mighty. Darkest evil descends upon Britain's shore in many guises. Fragile alliances fray and tear, threatening all that the noble liege has won with his wisdom and his blood. His most trusted counselor-the warrior, bard, and kingmaker whom legend will name Merlin-is himself to be tested on a mystical journey back through his own extraordinary past. In a black time of plague and pestilence, it is Arthur who must stand alone against a great and terrible adversary, for only in this way can he truly win immortality-and the name treasured above all others: Pendragon.

Author(s): Stephen R. Lawhead
Series: Pendragon Cycle Series No: 4
Genre: Fantasy
Original Publish Date: Jan 16, 2012

All formats/editions

Author(s): Stephen R. Lawhead
Genre: Fantasy
Product Number EB00235723
Released: Mar 18, 2014
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Harper Voyager
ISBN: #9780061802676

Professional reviews

"In the fourth volume of Lawhead's Pendragon saga, Merlin (Myrdinn) narrates the story of the beginning of Arthur's reign, his marriage to Guinevere (Gwenwhyvar) and his battles against invaders. Frederick Davidson reads with a world-weary tone, which is sometimes tiresome, but many of his vocal characterizations are skillful; his British, Irish and Scottish dialects sound true. Less successful are his women's voices (rather high pitched) and voices for older men (too similar). His emotional coloring of the narrative is on the mark, and his maintenance of tempo is a sign of his experience as a narrator. Overall, the result is mixed, but fans of the series should find this of interest. M.A.M. (c)AudioFile, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter