Scenes of Clerical Life

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (14.08 hours)
Product Number: Z100097546
Released: Jun 21, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781483064406
Narrator/s: Wanda McCaddon
Please log in to view pricing


George Eliot's brilliant fiction debut contains three stories from the lives of clergymen, with the aim of disclosing the value hidden in the commonplace. "The Sad Fortunes of the Rev. Amos Barton" portrays a character who is hard to like and generally despised-until his suffering shocks others into fellowship and sympathy. In "Mr. Gilfil's Love-Story," young Caterina is courted by two opposite men: Wybrow, who is capable of loving only himself, and Mr. Gilfil, whose love is selfless. "Janet's Repentance" recounts a conversion from sinfulness to righteousness, achieved through the selfless endeavors of an evangelical clergyman. Written more than a decade after her break with the Christian faith, these tales represent Eliot's search for a "religion of humanity" compatible with the best qualities of Christianity.

Author(s): George Eliot
Genre: Classics
Original Publish Date: Jan 01, 2006

All formats/editions

Author(s): George Eliot
Genre: Classics
Product Number EB00677764
Released: Jul 13, 2016
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Start Classics
ISBN: #9781627939768

Sign up for our email newsletter