Maid in Waiting

Author(s): John Galsworthy
Series: Forsyte Chronicles Series No: 7
Genre: Classics
Original Publish Date: Jan 01, 2006
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (10.02 hours)
Product Number: Z100128434
Released: Aug 25, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781483086637
Narrator/s: Frederick Davidson
Please log in to view pricing


Maid in Waiting is the first novel in the third and final trilogy of John Galsworthy's Forsyte Chronicles. In this seventh installment, the story continues the lives and times, loves and losses, and fortunes and deaths of the fictional but entirely representative family of propertied Victorians, the Forsytes. The trilogy here begun is called End of the Chapter and concerns the cousins of the younger Forsytes, the Cherrells. The Forsyte Chronicles has become established as one of the most popular and enduring works of twentieth-century literature, described by the New York Times as "a social satire of epic proportions and one that does not suffer by comparison with Thackeray's Vanity Fair...[A] comedy of manners, convincing both in its fidelity to life and as a work of art."

All formats/editions

Author(s): John Galsworthy
Narrator(s): David Case
Genre: Classics
Product Number DD5912
Released: Mar 01, 2013
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781441737922

Sign up for our email newsletter