Restoration Heights

Product Number: EB00720312
Released: Jan 22, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781488098659
Publisher: Harlequin
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"A big-bang debut."—Library Journal A debut novel about a young artist, a missing woman, and the tendrils of wealth and power that link the art scene in Brooklyn to Manhattan's elite, for fans of Jonathan Lethem and Richard Price Reddick, a young, white artist, lives in Bedford-Stuyvesant, a historically black Brooklyn neighborhood besieged by gentrification. He makes rent as an art handler, hanging expensive works for Manhattan's one percent, and spends his free time playing basketball at the local Y rather than putting energy into his stagnating career. He is also the last person to see Hannah before she disappears. When Hannah's fiancE, scion to an old-money Upper East Side family, refuses to call the police, Reddick sets out to learn for himself what happened to her. The search gives him a sense of purpose, pulling him through a dramatic cross section of the city he never knew existed. The truth of Hannah's fate is buried at the heart of a many-layered mystery that, in its unraveling, shakes Reddick's convictions and lays bare the complicated machinations of money and power that connect the magisterial town houses of the Upper East Side to the unassuming brownstones of Bed-Stuy. Restoration Heights is both a page-turning mystery and an in-depth study of the psychological fallout and deep racial tensions that result from economic inequality and unrestricted urban development. In lyrical, addictive prose, Wil Medearis asks the question: In a city that prides itself on its diversity and inclusivity, who has the final say over the future? Is it long-standing residents, recent transplants or whoever happens to have the most money? Timely, thought-provoking and sweeping in vision, Restoration Heights is an exhilarating new entry in the canon of great Brooklyn novels.

x-large
Author(s): Wil Medearis
Original Publish Date: Jan 22, 2019

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Wil Medearis
Narrator(s): Angelo Di Loreto
Product Number DD43572
Released: Jan 22, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781982644635
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Wil Medearis
Narrator(s): Angelo Di Loreto
Product Number Z100109491
Released: Jan 22, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781488205576

Sign up for our email newsletter