The Trees

CD - unabridged
Audio (15 discs)
Product Number: BN10122
Released: Aug 02, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781489099327
Narrator/s: Ben Onwukwe
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A compulsive, mesmerising and wildly imaginative novel in the vein of Pan's Labyrinth and Station Eleven from the award-winning author of The Girl with Glass Feet There came an elastic aftershock of creaks and groans and then, softly softly, a chinking shower of rubbled cement. Leaves calmed and trunks stood serene. Where, not a minute before, there had been a suburb, there was now only woodland standing amid ruins...There is no warning. No chance to prepare. The trees arrive in the night: thundering up through the ground, transforming streets and towns into shadowy forest. Adrien Thomas has never been much of a hero. But when he realises that no help is coming, he ventures into this unrecognisable world. Alongside green-fingered Hannah and her teenage son Seb, Adrien sets out to find his wife and to discover just how deep the forest goes. Their journey will take them to a place of terrible beauty and violence, to the dark heart of nature and the darkness inside themselves.

x-large
Author(s): Ali Shaw
Genre: Sci Fi

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Ali Shaw
Product Number EB00667848
Released: Aug 02, 2016
Business Term: 52 Circ / 730 Day
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
ISBN: #9781632862846

Professional reviews

"The phrase "going back to nature" takes on a new, terrifying meaning when the world is torn up by thousands of trees breaking through the earth overnight, cutting through buildings, infrastructure, and people. Ben Onwukwe's elegant British voice has a gritty undertone that befits the parallels of violence and beauty that are prevalent throughout this story. The power shift is palpable as wolves and other dangerous creatures emerge from the changed landscape. Middle-aged Adrien reluctantly accepts the help of the wilderness-loving Hannah and her teenage son, Seb, to find his estranged wife, Michelle, in Ireland. While the American accent for the character of Hiroko, a formidable teenager the trio meets along the way, is unconvincing, Onwukwe shines in his embodiment of Adrien's perpetual fatigue and Hannah's unnerving optimism. E.E. © AudioFile 2017, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter