The Girl In The Painting

x-large
Author(s): Tea Cooper
Original Publish Date: Jan 01, 2020
Product Number: EB00762514
Released: Jan 01, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781489270702
Publisher: HQ Fiction
Please log in to view pricing

Description

For readers of The True Story of Maddie Bright, The Woman in the Green Dress and The Birdman's Wife comes this atmospheric and richly detailed Australian historical mystery from a bestselling Australian author.

Maitland 1913 Miss Elizabeth Quinn is something of an institution in Maitland Town. For longer than anyone could remember she and her brother, businessman Michael, have lived in the impressive two-storey stone house next to the church. When she is discovered cowering in the corner of the exhibition gallery at the Technical College the entire town knows something strange has come to pass.

Was it the prehistoric remains or perhaps the taxidermy exhibition that had reduced the whale-boned encased pillar of society to a quivering mess? Or is there something odd about a striking painting on loan from the National Gallery?

Mathematical savant Jane Piper is determined to find out. Deposited on the doorstep of the local orphanage as a baby, she owes her life and education to the Quinns' philanthropic ventures and Elizabeth has no one else to turn to.

As the past and the present converge, Elizabeth's grip on reality loosens. Can Jane, with her logical brain and penchant for puzzles, unravel Elizabeth's story before it is too late?

Ranging from the gritty reality of the Australian goldfields to the grand institutions of Sydney, the bucolic English countryside to the charm of Maitland Town, this compelling historical mystery in the company of an eccentric and original heroine is rich with atmosphere and detail.

PRAISE FOR TEA COOPER

'Boasts strong female protagonists, an infectious fascination with the past, and the narrative skill to weave multiple timelines into a satisfying whole...smartly edited, cleanly written...easy to devour.' - Sydney Morning Herald on The Woman in the Green Dress

'Cooper is a welcome inclusion to the rising ranks of female-centred historical Australian novels.' - The Herald Sun on The Naturalist's Daughter

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Tea Cooper
Product Number Z100168183
Released: Mar 09, 2021
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
ISBN: #9780785240358
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Tea Cooper
Product Number EB00827078
Released: Mar 09, 2021
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
ISBN: #9780785240341

Sign up for our email newsletter