Against the Country

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (10.57 hours)
Product Number: Z08595
Released: Jan 17, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781490627687
Narrator/s: Scott Sowers
Please log in to view pricing

Description

For fans of Southern Gothic, Ben Metcalf's AGAINST THE COUNTRY is an intense, sly and deceptively humorous debut novel about growing up in the wilds of Goochland County, Virginia, from former literary editor of Harper's Magazine. Beginning with his parents' decision to move away from the corrupting influences of town, and to settle instead in rural Virginia, Metcalf's narrator leads the reader through a gallery of scabrous youths and callous adults driven mad by the stubborn soil of the New World. Eloquently misanthropic, the narrator of AGAINST THE COUNTRY fully inhabits the style of the old timer's winding yarn even as he sabotages all that the forces of provincialism stand for from within. For it is through this deft and self-destructive tone that it becomes clear that the land itself, from dirtyards to farms and forests, is not mere backdrop but the living, breathing, menacing influence behind each and every inhabitant's hardscrabble existence. Ben Metcalf was born in Illinois and raised in that state and later in rural Virginia. His writing has appeared in The Baffler, Harper's, and elsewhere and has twice been included in THE BEST AMERICAN ESSAYS.

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
Against the Country
Product Number: BX00031620
Product Number:CV0392
Product Number:Z08595

This title is part of (or scheduled to be part of) the following subscriptions:

RBdigital Unlimited Audio - Pub Library - US Collection
RBdigital Unlimited Audio - Pub Library - Canada Collection
RBdigital Unlimited Audio - Higher Ed - Curriculum - Platinum Collection
RBdigital Unlimited Audio for Higher Education
RBdigital Unlimited Audio - Healthcare - Adult Collection

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Ben Metcalf
Narrator(s): Scott Sowers
Product Number CV0392
Released: Mar 06, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781490627670
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Ben Metcalf
Product Number EB00476224
Released: Jan 06, 2015
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: #9780812996531