eAudio - unabridged
Audio (7.28 hours)
Product Number: Z09714
Released: Dec 19, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781490653808
Narrator/s: Karen Chilton
Please log in to view pricing


Award-winning author Ruth-Miriam Garnett pens a novel about three sisters who are working to build a new life for themselves. Set in the town of Peoria, the Cates sisters find new beginnings while slowly learning to let go of their burdening husbands and their non-existent marriages. Karen Chilton's stirring performance captures the ambiance of this inspiring and appealing story.

This title is part of (or scheduled to be part of) the following subscriptions:

RBdigital Unlimited Access Audio Subscription - RB titles
RBdigital Unlimited Access Audio Subscription - RB titles #2

All formats/editions

Author(s): Ruth-Miriam Garnett
Narrator(s): Karen Chilton
Product Number CF084
Released: Oct 10, 2006
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781402590108
Author(s): Ruth-Miriam Garnett
Product Number EB00715063
Released: Feb 20, 2018
Business Term: 1 Year
Publisher: Atria Books
ISBN: #9780743480321

Professional reviews

"Ruth-Miriam Garnett's epic of three sisters, each in a bad marriage, is part feminist revenge, part morality play, and part country western lyric. What could have been a successful comedy is in reality a lackluster novel. Karen Chilton's mundane reading does little to nothing to elevate this work. Where the story could have been made palpable by an engaging performance, Chilton gives us a droning monotone. The combination of narrative and narration equals a slumber-inducing product. The moral of the novel is to stand by your man, no matter how worthless he may be. This should not be the stance taken by the listener who happens upon this audiobook. P.R. (c) AudioFile 2006, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter