A Song for Issy Bradley

x-large
Author(s): Carys Bray
CD - unabridged
Audio (9 discs)
Product Number: C03586
Released: Mar 12, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781490658032
Narrator/s: Emma Gregory
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A mesmerizing literary debut novel of doubt, faith, and perseverance in the aftermath of a family tragedy-for fans of Me Before You, Little Bee, and Tell the Wolves I'm Home. The Bradleys see the world as a place where miracles are possible, and where nothing is more important than family. This is their story. It is the story of Ian Bradley-husband, father, math teacher, and Mormon bishop-and his unshakeable belief that everything will turn out all right if he can only endure to the end, like the pioneers did. It is the story of his wife, Claire, her lonely wait for a sign from God, and her desperate need for life to pause while she comes to terms with tragedy. And it is the story of their children: sixteen-year-old Zippy, experiencing the throes of first love; cynical fourteen-year-old Al, who would rather play soccer than read the Book of Mormon; and seven-year-old Jacob, whose faith is bigger than a mustard seed-probably bigger than a toffee candy, he thinks-and which he's planning to use to mend his broken family with a miracle. Intensely moving, unexpectedly funny, and deeply observed, A Song for Issy Bradley explores the outer reaches of doubt and faith, and of a family trying to figure out how to carry on when the innermost workings of their world have broken apart. Praise for A Song for Issy Bradley "I loved A Song for Issy Bradley. It's wry, smart . . . moving and comforting. . . . A terrific book [about] faith, and what happens to that faith when the unimaginable happens."-Nick Hornby "In this wry, original, generous-spirited debut novel, members of a family come to terms with grief, each in his or her own way. They wrestle with belief and disillusionment, desire and hopelessness, pervasive sorrow and moments of transcendent joy. The result is riveting, powerful, and quietly devastating. Quite simply, A Song for Issy Bradley took my breath away."-Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train "A Song for Issy Bradley is that rarest of things-a book that is beautiful, tender, and a page-turner. Carys Bray made me fall hopelessly in love with each and every one of the Bradleys."-Carol Rifka Brunt, New York Times bestselling author of Tell the Wolves I'm Home "I cannot remember the last time I have felt so emotionally invested in a novel. It is brilliant and profoundly moving, utterly compelling and almost unbearably real."-Nathan Filer, author of The Shock of the Fall "Carys Bray is a strikingly original new voice in fiction. I loved this tender, moving, funny, and deeply truthful story about a family and a faith tested to the breaking point."-Helen Dunmore, author of The Lie and The Siege "I loved A Song for Issy Bradley. With courage, warmth, and intelligence, Carys Bray sweetly and subtly breaks your heart. It's an incredible debut."-Charlotte Mendelson, author of Almost English and When We Were Bad From the Hardcover edition.

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
A Song for Issy Bradley
Product Number: BX00035078
Product Number:Z09839
Product Number:C03586

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Carys Bray
Narrator(s): Emma Gregory
Product Number Z09839
Released: Jan 01, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781490658049
MP3 CD
x-large
Author(s): Carys Bray
Narrator(s): Emma Gregory
Product Number MP1173
Released: Mar 06, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781490659893
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Carys Bray
Product Number EB00222282
Released: Aug 12, 2014
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Ballantine Books
ISBN: #9780553390896