In Wilderness

CD - unabridged
Audio (9 discs)
Product Number: CV0344
Released: May 06, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781490658568
Narrator/s: Linda Stephens
Please log in to view pricing

Description

For readers of Amanda Coplin and Chris Bohjalian, In Wilderness is a suspenseful and literary love story-a daring and original novel about our fierce need for companionship and our enduring will to survive. In the winter of 1966, Katherine Reid moves to an isolated cabin deep in Georgia's Appalachian Mountains. There, with little more than a sleeping bag, a tin plate, and a loaded gun, she plans to spend her time in peaceful solitude. But one day, Katherine realizes the woods are not empty, and she is not alone. Someone else is near, observing her every move. Twenty-year-old Vietnam veteran Danny lives not far from Katherine's cabin, in a once-grand mansion he has dubbed "Gatsby's house." Haunted by war and enclosed by walls of moldering books, he becomes fixated on Katherine. What starts as cautious observation grows to obsession. When these two souls collide, the passion that ignites between them is all-consuming-and increasingly dangerous. Suffused with a stunning sense of character and atmosphere, Diane Thomas's intimate voice creates an unforgettable depiction of the transformative power of love, how we grieve and hope, and the perilous ways in which we heed and test our hearts. Praise for In Wilderness "A harrowing exploration of desire and obsession, In Wilderness sends two people into a physical and psychological wilderness that becomes stranger and more terrifying the deeper they go."-Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train "Not my usual thing, which makes me say it all the louder: I love, love, love this book-the fearless and unflinching story of two extraordinary, vivid people alone in a vast pristine wilderness, told with genuine suspense and a wonderfully empowering ending. In Wilderness is altogether spectacular."-Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Personal "Thomas writes hauntingly of obsession and survival in this dark, unusual love story. . . . As the author moves her characters through the seasons of 1966, 1967, and 1968, she offers a deep and unforgettable look into how tragedy and madness can shape lives. Written from the points of view of two suffering people, the story takes on an almost surreal, lyrical quality. Riveting and raw."-Publishers Weekly "Haunting . . . This is both a heartbreaking and hopeful tale that stays with readers long after the last page is read."-RT Book Reviews "Explosive . . . The tension continues to grow. . . . [Katherine and Danny's] passionate relationship reveals the human longing for connection. . . . Thomas writes with richness, describing the natural world as viscerally as she does the interior lives of these two intense characters. . . . Recommended for readers who also like the raw, honest writing of Amy Bloom or Amanda Coplin."-Library Journal "Gripping . . . powered by genuine suspense and driven forward by two characters whose lives readers cannot look away from . . . a memorable story of an isolated, beautiful place and of two people trying to make sense of the world they have chosen to live in."-Booklist "Unforgettable: a mad, haunting, dreamlike story of love, obsession, and wildness . . . Diane Thomas mixes elegant prose with raw emotion."-William Landay, New York Times bestselling author of Defending Jacob

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
In Wilderness
Product Number: BX00034068
Product Number:Z09884
Product Number:CV0344

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Diane Thomas
Narrator(s): Linda Stephens
Product Number Z09884
Released: Mar 17, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781490658575
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Diane Thomas
Product Number EB00558556
Released: Mar 03, 2015
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Bantam
ISBN: #9780804176965

Sign up for our email newsletter