Catch You Later, Traitor

x-large
Author(s): Avi
Awards:2016-Best Juvenile-Nominee-Edgar Award
CD - unabridged
Audio (6 discs)
Product Number: C03692
Released: May 13, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781490664637
Narrator/s: Mark Turetsky
Please log in to view pricing

Description

From Newbery Medalist Avi comes the thrilling and suspenseful story of an ordinary American family who fall under suspicion. It's 1951, and twelve-year-old Pete Collison is a regular kid in Brooklyn, New York, who loves Sam Spade detective books and radio crime dramas. But when an FBI agent shows up at Pete's doorstep, accusing Pete's father of being a Communist, Pete is caught in a real-life mystery. Could there really be Commies in Pete's family? As Pete follows the quickly accumulating clues, he begins to wonder if the truth could put his family's livelihood--and even their freedom--at risk. In the tradition of "Who Was That Masked Man, Anyway?, Don't You Know There's a War On?, "and "Nothing But the Truth, Catch You Later, Traitor" tells a funny, insightful story packed with realistic period detail of a boy in mid-twentieth-century America whose family is caught in the wide net of America's Red Scare.

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
Catch You Later, Traitor
Product Number: BX00034853
Product Number:Z10483
Product Number:C03692

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Avi
Narrator(s): Mark Turetsky
Product Number Z10483
Released: Apr 27, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781490664644
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Avi
Product Number EB00584056
Released: Mar 10, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781616204877
Kit
x-large
Class Set
Author(s): Avi
Narrator(s): Mark Turetsky
Product Number 3M0707
Released: Apr 01, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781490684642
x-large
Hanging Bag
Author(s): Avi
Narrator(s): Mark Turetsky
Product Number 3E0688
Released: May 21, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781490684659
x-large
Homework Pack
Author(s): Avi
Narrator(s): Mark Turetsky
Product Number 3G0733
Released: May 15, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781490684666
Text
x-large
Teacher's Guide
Author(s): Avi
Product Number 4T0776
Released: Apr 01, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781490684635
x-large
Text - Hardback
Author(s): Avi
Product Number 160800
Released: Mar 10, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Algonquin Books
ISBN: #9781616203597

Professional reviews

"Mark Turetsky provides just the right noir-style narration for a mystery that takes place in the 1950s. Pete's life is turned upside down when the FBI starts questioning his father about possible Communist activity. Hoping to discern the truth, Pete decides to investigate his family's past. Throughout the story Pete switches to his detective point of view--trying to see the world with a new set of eyes--and Turetsky follows suit. As his voice deepens and his pacing slows, listeners are swept up in description and action with the sound of an old-time radio show. Throughout this middle grade mystery Turetsky keeps listeners in suspense. S.B.T. © AudioFile 2015, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter