The Winter Girl

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (6.43 hours)
Product Number: Z11434
Released: Jan 19, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781490697802
Narrator/s: Quincy Dunn-Baker
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Scott is spending his winter in the Hamptons with his wife Elise, who is taking care of her terminally ill father. With Elise in the hospital everyday and their marriage growing increasingly strained, Scott spends a lot of time alone. He finds himself fascinated with the seemingly empty house next door, where every night the lights go out at exactly 11 pm. Convinced no one is home he decides to break in the next day. Although he doesn't discover much of interest, trespassing gives him a thrill he hasn't felt in a long time. He soon convinces his wife to come with him on his next visit and their simple transgression leads to an escalating series of bad decisions, infidelities, violence, and shocking revelations. Key selling points: A Poisonous Bon Bon: Sex, secrets, violence, and marriage wrapped tightly in a deceptively short novel. You'll enjoy every deliciously naughty moment through to the chilling end. Blistering prose: Matt Marinovich has the Voice, razor sharp throughout, and then he just hits you with a line or paragraph or scene about love and loss and loneliness that makes you realize you've been holding your breath for pages. Rear Window Unhinged: Scott likes to watch. He's not the only one. A Scathing take on Hamptons: What is more tasty than the worst-case scenario playing out in those big Hamptons mansions? Whatever happens, it still won't affect property values... There will be praise: An amazing talent has arrived. For fans of Herman Koch, Chelsea Cain, Adam Ross. Author Bio: Matt Marinovich is the author of Strange Skies and lives in Brooklyn. He has worked as an editor at Interview, Martha Stewart Living, People, and Real Simple. His writing has appeared in McSweeney's Internet Tendencies, Esquire.com, Salon, Quarterly West, Open City, Barcelona Review, Poets & Writers and others.

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
The Winter Girl
Product Number: BX00038943
Product Number:Z11434
Product Number:C03924

This title is part of (or scheduled to be part of) the following subscriptions:

RBdigital Unlimited Audio - Pub Library - US Collection
RBdigital Unlimited Audio for Higher Education
RBdigital Unlimited Audio - Pub Library - Canada Collection
RBdigital Unlimited Audio - Higher Ed - Curriculum - Platinum Collection
RBdigital Unlimited Audio - Higher Ed - Curriculum - Gold Collection
RBdigital Unlimited Audio - Healthcare - Adult Collection

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Matt Marinovich
Narrator(s): Quincy Dunn-Baker
Product Number C03924
Released: Jan 13, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781490697796
MP3 CD
x-large
Author(s): Matt Marinovich
Narrator(s): Quincy Dunn-Baker
Product Number MP1900
Released: Mar 04, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781501912245
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Matt Marinovich
Product Number EB00607769
Released: Jan 19, 2016
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Vintage
ISBN: #9780385539982