Hacking Darwin

Genetic Engineering and the Future of Humanity
Product Number: EB00760235
Released: Jun 07, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781492670100
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"A gifted and thoughtful writer, Metzl brings us to the frontiers of biology and technology, and reveals a world full of promise and peril." - Siddhartha Mukherjee MD, New York Times bestselling author of The Emperor of All Maladies and The Gene Passionate, provocative, and highly illuminating, Hacking Darwin is the must read book about the future of our species for fans of Homo Deus and The Gene. After 3.8 billion years humankind is about to start evolving by new rules... From leading geopolitical expert and technology futurist Jamie Metzl comes a groundbreaking exploration of the many ways genetic-engineering is shaking the core foundations of our lives - sex, war, love, and death. At the dawn of the genetics revolution, our DNA is becoming as readable, writable, and hackable as our information technology. But as humanity starts retooling our own genetic code, the choices we make today will be the difference between realizing breathtaking advances in human well-being and descending into a dangerous and potentially deadly genetic arms race. Enter the laboratories where scientists are turning science fiction into reality. Look towards a future where our deepest beliefs, morals, religions, and politics are challenged like never before and the very essence of what it means to be human is at play. When we can engineer our future children, massively extend our lifespans, build life from scratch, and recreate the plant and animal world, should we?

x-large
Author(s): Jamie Metzl
Original Publish Date: Apr 23, 2019

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Jamie Metzl
Narrator(s): Eric Jason Martin
Product Number DD43221
Released: Apr 23, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Highbridge Company
ISBN: #9781684417384
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Jamie Metzl
Narrator(s): Eric Jason Martin
Product Number Z100150105
Released: Apr 23, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Highbridge Company
ISBN: #9781684417391

Sign up for our email newsletter