The Town

eAudio - unabridged
Product Number: Z100155610
Released: Feb 04, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781494537333
Narrator/s: Danny Campbell
Publisher: Tantor Media, Inc
Please log in to view pricing


The Awakening Land trilogy traces the transformation of a middle-American landscape from wilderness to farmland to the site of modern industrial civilization, all in the lifetime of one character. The trilogy earned author Conrad Richter immense acclaim, ranking him with the greatest of American mid-century novelists. It includes The Trees (1940), The Fields (1946), and The Town (1950) and follows the varied fortunes of Sayward Luckett and her family in southeastern Ohio. The Town, the longest novel of the trilogy, won the 1951 Pulitzer Prize and received excellent reviews across the country. It tells how Sayward completes her mission and lives to see the transition of her family and her friends, American pioneers, from the ways of wilderness to the ways of civilization. Here is the tumultuous story of how the Lucketts grow to face the turmoil of the first half of the nineteenth century. The Town is a much bigger book than either of its predecessors, and with them comprises a great American epic.

Author(s): Conrad Richter
Series: Awakening Land Series No: 3
Original Publish Date: Feb 04, 2020

This title is part of (or scheduled to be part of) the following subscriptions:

RBdigital Unlimited Canada Audio Subscription

All formats/editions

Author(s): Conrad Richter
Product Number EB00665821
Released: Mar 31, 2016
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Knopf
ISBN: #9780451493743

Sign up for our email newsletter