Ponti

Product Number: EB00724636
Released: Sep 04, 2018
Business Term: 1 Year
ISBN: #9781501173134
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Please log in to view pricing

Description

An award-winning fiction debut about the value of friendships in present-day Singapore-a surprising and powerful portrait of Asia that shows the unique blend of modern and traditional cultures coming together-for fans of Elena Ferrante and Emma Cline. "I am Miss Frankenstein, I am the bottom of the bell curve." So declares Szu, a teenager living in a dark, dank house on a Singapore cul-de-sac, at the beginning of this richly atmospheric and endlessly surprising tale of non-belonging and isolation. Friendless and fatherless, Szu lives in the shadow of her mother Amisa, once a beautiful actress-who gained fame for her portrayal of a ghost-and now a hack medium performing sEances with her sister in a rusty house. When Szu meets the privileged, acid-tongued Circe, an unlikely encounter develops into a fraught friendship that will haunt them both for decades to come. With remarkable emotional acuity, dark comedy, and in vivid prose, Sharlene Teo's Ponti traces the suffocating tangle the lives of four misfits, women who need each other as much as they need to find their own way. It is an astounding portrayal of the gaping loneliness of adolescence, the surrealness of the modern city, and the strangeness of living with and loving other people.

x-large
Author(s): Sharlene Teo
Original Publish Date: Sep 04, 2018

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Sharlene Teo
Narrator(s): Vera Chok
Product Number DD39968
Released: Sep 04, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781508263616
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Sharlene Teo
Narrator(s): Vera Chok
Product Number Z100137067
Released: Sep 04, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781508261261

Sign up for our email newsletter