The Unforgotten

Product Number: EB00711294
Released: Feb 06, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781501181238
Publisher: Gallery Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"A smart and gripping debut that saves its best for last." -Chris Cleave, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Little Bee "[A] thoroughly satisfying and suspenseful debutthe final twist in the murder plot will catch many readers unaware, as will the surprising emotional heft of the narrative, which traces the damage wrought by secrets and good intentions gone awry." -Publishers Weekly For fans of Louise Penny and Tana French, this "unsettlingcompelling" (Glamour) thriller explores the devastating repercussions of a long-ago crime as it delves into forbidden relationships, the emotional bond between mothers and daughters, and the dark consequences of harboring secrets. It is the summer of 1956, and fifteen-year-old Betty Broadbent has never left the Cornish fishing village of St. Steele or ventured far beyond the walls of the Hotel Eden, the slightly ramshackle boarding house run by her moody, unpredictable mother. But Betty's world is upended when a string of brutal murders brings London's press corps flooding into the village, many of whom find lodging at the Hotel Eden. She is instantly transfixed by one of the reporters, the mysterious and strangely aloof Mr. Gallagher-and he, fully twice her age, seems equally transfixed by her. The unlikely relationship that blooms between Betty and Mr. Gallagher is as overlaid with longing and desire as it is with impropriety and even menace. And as the shocking death toll rises, both Betty and Mr. Gallagher are forced to make a devastating choice, one that will shape their own lives-and the life of an innocent man-forever. The revelations in Powell's haunting debut will give you chills, and her unforgettable heroine will break your heart.

x-large
Author(s): Laura Powell
Original Publish Date: Feb 06, 2018

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Laura Powell
Narrator(s): Katy Sobey
Product Number Z100136723
Released: Feb 06, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781508253228

Sign up for our email newsletter