The Daughter's Tale

A Novel
Product Number: EB00746391
Released: May 07, 2019
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781501187957
Publisher: Atria Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"The Daughter's Tale is immersive, both heartbreaking and redemptive, steeped in harrowing historical events and heroic acts of compassion that will have you reflecting on the best and worst the human heart has to offer. Fans of WWII history and book clubs will find depth and skillful storytelling here, but on a deeper level, searing questions about life, love, and the choices we make in the most impossible of circumstances." -Lisa Wingate, New York Times bestselling author of Before We Were Yours From the internationally bestselling author of The German Girl, an unforgettable family saga exploring a hidden piece of World War II history and the lengths a mother will go to protect her children-perfect for fans of Lilac Girls, We Were the Lucky Ones, and The Alice Network. BERLIN, 1939. The dreams that Amanda Sternberg and her husband, Julius, had for their daughters are shattered when the Nazis descend on Berlin, burning down their beloved family bookshop and sending Julius to a concentration camp. Desperate to save her children, Amanda flees toward the south of France, where the widow of an old friend of her husband's has agreed to take her in. Along the way, a refugee ship headed for Cuba offers another chance at escape and there, at the dock, Amanda is forced to make an impossible choice that will haunt her for the rest of her life. Once in Haute-Vienne, her brief respite is interrupted by the arrival of Nazi forces, and Amanda finds herself in a labor camp where she must once again make a heroic sacrifice. NEW YORK, 2015. Eighty-year-old Elise Duval receives a call from a woman bearing messages from a time and country that she forced herself to forget. A French Catholic who arrived in New York after World War II, Elise is shocked to discover that the letters were from her mother, written in German during the war. Despite Elise's best efforts to stave off her past, seven decades of secrets begin to unravel. Based on true events, The Daughter's Tale chronicles one of the most harrowing atrocities perpetrated by the Nazis during the war. Heartbreaking and immersive, it is a beautifully crafted family saga of love, survival, and redemption.

x-large
Original Publish Date: May 07, 2019

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Narrator(s): Cassandra Campbell
Product Number DD41864
Released: Feb 12, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781508267980
eAudio
x-large
Narrator(s): Cassandra Campbell
Product Number Z100140479
Released: May 07, 2019
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781508267966

Sign up for our email newsletter