An Ocean of Minutes

Product Number: EB00717576
Released: Jul 10, 2018
Business Term: 1 Year
ISBN: #9781501192579
Publisher: Touchstone
Please log in to view pricing

Description

AN INDIE NEXT PICK! A "Best Book of 2018" -Real Simple "Lim's steady prose and deft character development ensured that I was hooked on Polly's story from beginning to end. [F]ull of fascinating social commentary on class differences, racism and sexism...it's easy to fall into this novel and become emotionally involved in Polly's journey and her search to find the people she loves." -Los Angeles Times In the vein of The Time Traveler's Wife and Station Eleven, a sweeping literary love story about two people who are at once mere weeks and many years apart. America is in the grip of a deadly flu pandemic. When Frank catches the virus, his girlfriend Polly will do whatever it takes to save him, even if it means risking everything. She agrees to a radical plan-time travel has been invented in the future to thwart the virus. If she signs up for a one-way-trip into the future to work as a bonded laborer, the company will pay for the life-saving treatment Frank needs. Polly promises to meet Frank again in Galveston, Texas, where she will arrive in twelve years. But when Polly is re-routed an extra five years into the future, Frank is nowhere to be found. Alone in a changed and divided America, with no status and no money, Polly must navigate a new life and find a way to locate Frank, to discover if he is alive, and if their love has endured. An Ocean of Minutes is a gorgeous and heartbreaking story about the endurance and complexity of human relationships and the cost of holding onto the past-and the price of letting it go.

x-large
Author(s): Thea Lim
Original Publish Date: Jul 10, 2018

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Thea Lim
Narrator(s): Lisa Rost-Welling
Product Number DD39846
Released: Jul 10, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781508263951
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Thea Lim
Narrator(s): Lisa Rost-Welling
Product Number Z100136806
Released: Jul 10, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781508257868

Sign up for our email newsletter