Code Name: Lise

The True Story of the Spy Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Woman
Product Number: EB00734741
Released: Jan 15, 2019
Business Term: 1 Year
ISBN: #9781501198670
Publisher: Gallery Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

From internationally bestselling author of the "gripping" (Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Into the Lion's Mouth comes the extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II—perfect for fans of Unbroken, The Nightingale, and Code Girls. The year is 1942, and World War II is in full swing. Odette Sansom decides to follow in her war hero father's footsteps by becoming an Soe agent to aid Britain and her beloved homeland, France. Five failed attempts and one plane crash later, she finally lands in occupied France to begin her mission. It is here that she meets her commanding officer Captain Peter Churchill. As they successfully complete mission after mission, Peter and Odette fall in love. All the while, they are being hunted by the cunning German secret police sergeant, Hugo Bleicher, who finally succeeds in capturing them. They are sent to Paris's Fresnes prison, and from there to concentration camps in Germany where they are starved, beaten, and tortured. But in the face of despair, they never give up hope, their love for each other, or the whereabouts of their colleagues. In Code Name: Lise, Larry Loftis paints a portrait of true courage, patriotism, and love—of two incredibly heroic people who endured unimaginable horrors and degradations. He seamlessly weaves together the touching romance between Odette and Peter and the thrilling cat and mouse game between them and Sergeant Bleicher. With this amazing testament to the human spirit, Loftis proves once again that he is adept at writing "nonfiction that reads like a page-turning novel" (Parade).

x-large
Author(s): Larry Loftis
Original Publish Date: Jan 15, 2019

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Larry Loftis
Product Number DD41314
Released: Jan 15, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781508278924
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Larry Loftis
Product Number Z100142482
Released: Jan 15, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781508278900

Sign up for our email newsletter