I've Been Wrong Before

Author(s): Evan James
Original Publish Date: Mar 03, 2020
Product Number: EB00761748
Released: Mar 03, 2020
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781501199653
Publisher: Atria Books
Please log in to view pricing


From the award-winning essayist and author of the "shrewd as hell and hysterically funny" (Carmen Maria Machado, author of Her Body and Other Parties) novel Cheer Up, Mr. Widdicombe comes a moving and unforgettable essay collection about his travels around the globe as he reflects on the power and complexity of human relationships. From the award-winning essay "Lover's Theme," in which Evan James explores the life of a drag queen in San Francisco, to his poignant story of coming out in "One Hell of a Homie," set against the backdrop of the 1992 film Class Act, this essay collection brilliantly captures both the beauty and pain of relationships—friendly, familiar, and romantic. I've Been Wrong Before is an eye-opening and heartfelt illustration of how our differences are often the things that bring us closer together. Masterfully balancing tremendous insight with startling humor, this absorbing collection features Evan James's "wry intelligence and sense of the absurd" (R.O. Kwon, author of The Incendiaries) and is perfect for fans of Alexander Chee and Maggie Nelson.

All formats/editions

Author(s): Evan James
Narrator(s): Charlie Thurston
Product Number Z100161594
Released: Apr 28, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Highbridge Company
ISBN: #9781696600910

Sign up for our email newsletter