Factfulness

Ten Reasons We're Wrong About the World--and Why Things Are Better Than You Think
x-large
Awards:New York Times Bestseller
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (8.85 hours)
Product Number: Z12260
Released: Apr 24, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781501920264
Narrator/s: Richard Harries
Please log in to view pricing

Description

For fans of Freakonomics and Thinking, Fast and Slow, here is a book by Hans Rosling, the scientist called "a true inspiration" by Bill Gates, that teaches us how to see the world as it truly is. Factfulness: The stress-reducing habit of only carrying opinions for which you have strong supporting facts. When asked simple questions about global trends-what percentage of the world's population live in poverty; why the world's population is increasing; how many girls finish school-we systematically get the answers wrong. So wrong that a chimpanzee choosing answers at random will consistently outguess teachers, journalists, Nobel laureates, and investment bankers. In Factfulness, Professor of International Health and global TED phenomenon Hans Rosling, together with his two long-time collaborators, Anna and Ola, offers a radical new explanation of why this happens. They reveal the ten instincts that distort our perspective-from our tendency to divide the world into two camps (usually some version of us and them) to the way we consume media (where fear rules) to how we perceive progress (believing that most things are getting worse). Our problem is that we don't know what we don't know, and even our guesses are informed by unconscious and predictable biases. It turns out that the world, for all its imperfections, is in a much better state than we might think. That doesn't mean there aren't real concerns. But when we worry about everything all the time instead of embracing a worldview based on facts, we can lose our ability to focus on the things that threaten us most. Inspiring and revelatory, filled with lively anecdotes and moving stories, Factfulness is an urgent and essential book that will change the way you see the world and empower you to respond to the crises and opportunities of the future.

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
Factfulness
Product Number: BX00048809
Product Number:C04345
Product Number:Z12260

This title is part of (or scheduled to be part of) the following subscriptions:

RBdigital Audio - Pub Library - Adult Bestseller Collection
RBdigital Unlimited Audio - Pub Library - US Collection
RBdigital Unlimited Audio - Higher Ed - Curriculum - Gold Collection
RBdigital Audio - Adult Academic Library Collection
RBdigital Unlimited Audio - Pub Library - Canada Collection
RBdigital Unlimited Audio - Higher Ed - Curriculum - Platinum Collection
RBdigital Unlimited Audio - Higher Ed - Curriculum - Silver Collection
RBdigital Unlimited Audio for Higher Education
RBdigital Unlimited Audio - Healthcare - Adult Collection

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Narrator(s): Richard Harries
Product Number C04345
Released: Apr 23, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781501920257
MP3 CD
x-large
Narrator(s): Richard Harries
Product Number MP2405
Released: May 22, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781501998218
eBook
x-large
Product Number EB00710988
Released: Apr 03, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Flatiron Books
ISBN: #9781250123817

Professional reviews

"International health specialist Hans Rosling and his collaborators set out to disprove common misconceptions about the state of the world and to show that the data proves things are, in fact, better than we think. Narrator Richard Harries presents a well-articulated, informative rendering of this approachable work, complementing Rosling's clear prose. With deliberate pacing that allows for the absorption of the fact-rich material, Harries guides listeners through Rosling's examination of widely held negative beliefs. Harries's narration enhances Rosling's strategies for combating the instinct to form negative impressions by looking at the data and seeing the big picture rather than conforming to the human tendency to adhere to our biases. S.E.G. © AudioFile 2018, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter