The Blackford Oakes Mysteries Volume One

Saving the Queen, Stained Glass, and Who's On First
Author(s): William F. Buckley
Original Publish Date: Feb 13, 2018
Product Number: EB00719879
Released: Feb 13, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781504051378
Please log in to view pricing


Now in one volume—the first three New York Times bestsellers starring a Cold War–era CIA superspy. Following the rules kept Blackford Oakes alive when he was an air force pilot during World War II, and it kept him in line as a student at Yale. But as a CIA agent, he knows that sometimes rules need to be broken . . . Saving the Queen: It's 1952 and Oakes tackles his first assignment in London. He must uncover a spy within Buckingham Palace and protect the young queen from assassination. Stained Glass: In this National Book Award winner, Oakes must silence a righteous nationalist stirring up trouble in East Germany, because failure to do so could push the United States and the USSR into World War III. Who's on First: The Hungarian Uprising of 1956 erupts, leaving Oakes trapped in Budapest. He soon finds himself in a race to stop the Soviets from launching a satellite—before KGB spies put an end to him.

Sign up for our email newsletter