Annie John

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (4.32 hours)
Product Number: Z100118054
Released: Jul 05, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781504743099
Narrator/s: Robin Miles
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Jamaica Kincaid presents a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua.An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence at the very center of the little girl's existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother's benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, "It was in such a paradise that I lived." When she turns twelve, however, Annie's life changes in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a "young lady," ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary.At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. "For I could not be sure," she reflects, "whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world."A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Annie John focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie's voice-urgent, demanding to be heard-is one that will not soon be forgotten.

x-large
Author(s): Jamaica Kincaid
Original Publish Date: Jul 05, 2016

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
Annie John
Product Number: BX00053748
Product Number:DD25550
Product Number:Z100118054

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Jamaica Kincaid
Narrator(s): Robin Miles
Product Number DD25550
Released: Jul 05, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781504743051
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Jamaica Kincaid
Product Number EB00103279
Released: Oct 28, 2013
Business Term: 52 Circ / 730 Day
ISBN: #9781466837782

Sign up for our email newsletter