The German Girl

A Novel
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (10.82 hours)
Product Number: Z100136243
Released: Feb 12, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781508226840
Narrator/s: Joy Osmanski
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A stunningly ambitious and beautiful novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Schindler's List, and All the Light We Cannot See, about twelve-year-old Hannah Rosenthal's harrowing experience fleeing Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas asylum they had been promised is an illusion. Before everything changed, young Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now, in 1939, the streets of Berlin are draped with red, white, and black flags; her family's fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places that once felt like home. Hannah and her best friend, Leo Martin, make a pact: whatever the future has in store for them, they'll meet it together. Hope appears in the form of the SS St. Louis, a transatlantic liner offering Jews safe passage out of Germany. After a frantic search to obtain visas, the Rosenthals and the Martins depart on the luxurious ship bound for Havana. Life on board the St. Louis is like a surreal holiday for the refugees, with masquerade balls, exquisite meals, and polite, respectful service. But soon ominous rumors from Cuba undermine the passengers' fragile sense of safety. From one day to the next, impossible choices are offered, unthinkable sacrifices are made, and the ship that once was their salvation seems likely to become their doom. Seven decades later in New York City, on her twelfth birthday, Anna Rosen receives a strange package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. Its contents will inspire Anna and her mother to travel to Havana to learn the truth about their family's mysterious and tragic past, a quest that will help Anna understand her place and her purpose in the world. The German Girl sweeps from Berlin at the brink of the Second World War to Cuba on the cusp of revolution, to New York in the wake of September 11, before reaching its deeply moving conclusion in the tumult of present-day Havana. Based on a true story, this masterful novel gives voice to the joys and sorrows of generations of exiles, forever seeking a place called home.

x-large
Original Publish Date: Oct 18, 2016

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Product Number EB00658957
Released: Oct 18, 2016
Business Term: 1 Year
Publisher: Atria Books
ISBN: #9781501121241

Professional reviews

"Narrator Joy Osmanski delivers the coming-of-age story of two girls who are separated by 70 years yet linked by world-changing events. Osmanski's spirited tone gives life to the anxieties and hopes of 12-year-olds Hannah and Anna, who are both burdened by loneliness and distant parents. In 1939 Berlin, Hannah plots escape from the "ogres" and faces uncertainty on a ship to Cuba. In 2014 New York City, Anna feels friendless except for her photograph of her father, who disappeared on September 11, 2001. Osmanski's character voices keep the girls center stage, while Hannah's friend Leo and the girls' parents remain less prominent characters. Even the elderly Hannah has a livelier voice than Anna's mother when they meet in Cuba. The story is winding and uneven, but hope and wonder shine brightly in these girls. M.P.P. © AudioFile 2016, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter