The German Girl

A Novel
x-large
Original Publish Date: Oct 18, 2016
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (10.82 hours)
Product Number: Z100136243
Released: Feb 12, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781508226840
Narrator/s: Joy Osmanski
Please log in to view pricing

Description

AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER Featured in Entertainment Weekly, People, The Millions, and USA TODAY "An unforgettable and resplendent novel which will take its place among the great historical fiction written about World War II." —Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of The Shoemaker's Wife A young girl flees Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas refuge they had been promised is an illusion in this "engrossing and heartbreaking" (Library Journal, starred review) debut novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and The Tattooist of Auschwitz. Berlin, 1939. Before everything changed, Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now the streets of Berlin are draped in ominous flags; her family's fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places they once considered home. A glimmer of hope appears in the shape of the St. Louis, a transatlantic ocean liner promising Jews safe passage to Cuba. At first, the liner feels like a luxury, but as they travel, the circumstances of war change, and the ship that was to be their salvation seems likely to become their doom. New York, 2014. On her twelfth birthday, Anna Rosen receives a mysterious package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. Its contents inspire Anna and her mother to travel to Havana to learn the truth about their family's mysterious and tragic past. Weaving dual time frames, and based on a true story, The German Girl is a beautifully written and deeply poignant story about generations of exiles seeking a place to call home.

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Product Number EB00658957
Released: Oct 18, 2016
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Atria Books
ISBN: #9781501121241

Professional reviews

"Narrator Joy Osmanski delivers the coming-of-age story of two girls who are separated by 70 years yet linked by world-changing events. Osmanski's spirited tone gives life to the anxieties and hopes of 12-year-olds Hannah and Anna, who are both burdened by loneliness and distant parents. In 1939 Berlin, Hannah plots escape from the "ogres" and faces uncertainty on a ship to Cuba. In 2014 New York City, Anna feels friendless except for her photograph of her father, who disappeared on September 11, 2001. Osmanski's character voices keep the girls center stage, while Hannah's friend Leo and the girls' parents remain less prominent characters. Even the elderly Hannah has a livelier voice than Anna's mother when they meet in Cuba. The story is winding and uneven, but hope and wonder shine brightly in these girls. M.P.P. © AudioFile 2016, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter