Dear Mrs. Bird

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (9.82 hours)
Product Number: Z100136763
Released: Jul 03, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781508255192
Narrator/s: Anna Popplewell
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"A marvelous treat. Charming and delightful." -Nina Stibbe, author of Love, Nina An irresistible debut set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist- a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls. London, 1940. Emmeline Lake is Doing Her Bit for the war effort, volunteering as a telephone operator with the Auxiliary Fire Services. When Emmy sees an advertisement for a job at the London Evening Chronicle, her dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent suddenly seem achievable. But the job turns out to be working as a typist for the fierce and renowned advice columnist, Henrietta Bird. Emmy is disappointed, but gamely bucks up and buckles down. Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight in the bin. But when Emmy reads poignant notes from women who may have Gone Too Far with the wrong men, or who can't bear to let their children be evacuated, she is unable to resist responding. As the German planes make their nightly raids, and London picks up the smoldering pieces each morning, Emmy secretly begins to write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles. Prepare to fall head over heels for Emmy and her best friend, Bunty, who are gutsy and spirited, even in the face of a terrible blow. The irrepressible Emmy keeps writing letters in this hilarious and enormously moving tale of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and ordinary people in extraordinary times.

x-large
Author(s): A.J. Pearce
Original Publish Date: Jul 03, 2018

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): A.J. Pearce
Narrator(s): Anna Popplewell
Product Number DD39834
Released: Jul 03, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781508264453
eBook
x-large
Author(s): A.J. Pearce
Product Number EB00717509
Released: Jul 03, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Scribner
ISBN: #9781501170089

Professional reviews

"In a performance that transports the listener to WWII-era London, narrator Anna Popplewell becomes Emmy Lake who, like many others, is doing what she can to help the war effort. Emmy and her best friend live a carefree life, even while the Germans bomb the city. Emmy, whose greatest desire is to be a Lady War Correspondent, takes a job at a women's magazine, working under Mrs. Bird, a gregarious, assertive advice columnist. Ultimately, Emmy decides to respond to letters on "unpleasant" topics as if SHE is Mrs. Bird. Popplewell embodies Emmy and the sundry characters who are part of her world, both during carefree times and as they struggle with the devastation of the war. A thoroughly enjoyable listen. A.L.S.M. © AudioFile 2018, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter