Lying in Wait

CD - unabridged
Audio (7 discs)
Product Number: DD39815
Released: Jun 12, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781508263920
Please log in to view pricing

Description

From the international bestselling author of Unraveling Oliver, an "unputdownable psychological thriller with an ending that lingers long after turning the final page" (The Irish Times) about a Dublin family whose dark secrets and twisted relationships are suddenly revealed. My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it. On the surface, Lydia Fitzsimons has the perfect life-wife of a respected, successful judge, mother to a beloved son, mistress of a beautiful house in Dublin. That beautiful house, however, holds a secret. And when Lydia's son, Laurence, discovers its secret, wheels are set in motion that lead to an increasingly claustrophobic and devastatingly dark climax. For fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn, this novel is a "seductively sinister story. The twists come together in a superbly scary denouncement, which delivers a final sting in the tail. Brilliantly macabre" (Sunday Mirror).

x-large
Author(s): Liz Nugent

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Liz Nugent
Product Number Z100136780
Released: Jun 12, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781508256748
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Liz Nugent
Product Number EB00717502
Released: Jun 12, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Gallery/Scout Press
ISBN: #9781501167782

Professional reviews

"Three narrators work expertly together in creating a sensational performance of Nugent's thriller. What if your dad had a lapse of judgment that involved murder and your mom showed up to finish off the victim? Would you be able to figure it out and turn them into the police? That's the premise of this slowly mounting suspense story about a family's terrible secret. Caoilfhionn Dunne, David McFetridge, and Lesley McGuire fluidly pass the chapters between them. The result is an immersive listening experience that will have you looking for any excuse to slip on your headphones. Whether you're hearing the petulance of Laurence, the teenager, or the arch confidence of Lydia, the ideal wife, these are characters you'll remember long after the last chapter. M.R. © AudioFile 2018, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter