An Ocean of Minutes

CD - unabridged
Audio (7 discs)
Product Number: DD39846
Released: Jul 10, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781508263951
Narrator/s: Lisa Rost-Welling
Please log in to view pricing

Description

AN INDIE NEXT PICK! A "Best Book of 2018" -Real Simple In the vein of The Time Traveler's Wife and Station Eleven, a sweeping literary love story about two people who are at once mere weeks and many years apart. America is in the grip of a deadly flu pandemic. When Frank catches the virus, his girlfriend Polly will do whatever it takes to save him, even if it means risking everything. She agrees to a radical plan-time travel has been invented in the future to thwart the virus. If she signs up for a one-way-trip into the future to work as a bonded laborer, the company will pay for the life-saving treatment Frank needs. Polly promises to meet Frank again in Galveston, Texas, where she will arrive in twelve years. But when Polly is re-routed an extra five years into the future, Frank is nowhere to be found. Alone in a changed and divided America, with no status and no money, Polly must navigate a new life and find a way to locate Frank, to discover if he is alive, and if their love has endured. An Ocean of Minutes is a gorgeous and heartbreaking story about the endurance and complexity of human relationships and the cost of holding onto the past-and the price of letting it go.

x-large
Author(s): Thea Lim
Awards:2018-Shortlist-Scotiabank Giller Prize

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Thea Lim
Narrator(s): Lisa Rost-Welling
Product Number Z100136806
Released: Jul 10, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781508257868
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Thea Lim
Product Number EB00717576
Released: Jul 10, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Gallery Books
ISBN: #9781501192579

Professional reviews

"When Polly's boyfriend, Frank, catches the deadly flu that's sweeping the country, she travels forward in time as a kind of indentured servant in a desperate bid to save him. Narrator Lisa Rost-Welling's understated approach to emotional moments serves the story well as Polly suppresses her emotions and struggles to maintain a sense of balance when her plans to reunite with Frank go terribly awry. However, Rost-Welling's performance is uneven. Her character voices and accents are inconsistent, and her enunciation often sounds mushy. She succeeds best when voicing Polly, giving the character a willful na•vetŽ that highlights Lim's strong character development. E.C. © AudioFile 2018, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter