Dear Mrs. Bird

CD - unabridged
Audio (8 discs)
Product Number: DD39834
Released: Jul 03, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781508264453
Narrator/s: Anna Popplewell
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"A marvelous treat. Charming and delightful." —Nina Stibbe, author of Love, Nina An irresistible debut set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist— a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls. London, 1940. Emmeline Lake is Doing Her Bit for the war effort, volunteering as a telephone operator with the Auxiliary Fire Services. When Emmy sees an advertisement for a job at the London Evening Chronicle, her dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent suddenly seem achievable. But the job turns out to be working as a typist for the fierce and renowned advice columnist, Henrietta Bird. Emmy is disappointed, but gamely bucks up and buckles down. Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight in the bin. But when Emmy reads poignant notes from women who may have Gone Too Far with the wrong men, or who can't bear to let their children be evacuated, she is unable to resist responding. As the German planes make their nightly raids, and London picks up the smoldering pieces each morning, Emmy secretly begins to write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles. Prepare to fall head over heels for Emmy and her best friend, Bunty, who are gutsy and spirited, even in the face of a terrible blow. The irrepressible Emmy keeps writing letters in this hilarious and enormously moving tale of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and ordinary people in extraordinary times.

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
Dear Mrs. Bird
Product Number: BX00075979
Product Number:Z100136763
Product Number:DD39834

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): A.J. Pearce
Narrator(s): Anna Popplewell
Product Number Z100136763
Released: Jul 03, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781508255192
eBook
x-large
Author(s): A.J. Pearce
Product Number EB00717509
Released: Jul 03, 2018
Business Term: 1 Year
Publisher: Scribner
ISBN: #9781501170089

Sign up for our email newsletter