The Storm

A Novel
x-large
Author(s): Arif Anwar
CD - unabridged
Audio (8 discs)
Product Number: DD39780
Released: May 15, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781508264538
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"A remarkable debut, in which fiction vividly portrays specific events in history."—Booklist (starred review) "This powerful and important debut is a story for our time." —Library Journal (starred review) From an immensely talented new voice in international fiction, a sweeping tour de force that seamlessly interweaves five love stories that, together, chronicle sixty years of Bangladeshi history. Shahryar, a recent PhD graduate and father of nine-year-old Anna, must leave the US when his visa expires. In their last remaining weeks together, we learn Shahryar's history, in a village on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman and his wife are preparing to face a storm of historic proportions. That story intersects with those of a Japanese pilot, a British doctor stationed in Burma during World War II, and a privileged couple in Calcutta who leaves everything behind to move to East Pakistan following the Partition of India. Inspired by the 1970 Bhola cyclone, in which half a million-people perished overnight, the structure of this riveting novel mimics the storm itself. Building to a series of revelatory and moving climaxes, it shows the many ways in which families love, betray, honor, and sacrifice for one another. At once grounded in history and fantastically imaginative, The Storm explores the humanity that connects us beyond the surface differences of race, religion, and nationality. It is an epic novel in the tradition of Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance, by a singularly gifted and perceptive new writer.

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Arif Anwar
Product Number Z100136800
Released: May 15, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781508257585
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Arif Anwar
Product Number EB00717526
Released: May 15, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Atria Books
ISBN: #9781501174520

Sign up for our email newsletter