The Girl They Left Behind

A Novel
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (10.95 hours)
Product Number: Z100139774
Released: Oct 09, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781508268673
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation-perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah's Key. On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. With Romania recently allied with the Nazis, the Jewish population is in grave danger, undergoing increasingly violent persecution. The girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind. They are even further from her mind when Romania falls under Soviet occupation. Yet, as Natalia comes of age in a bleak and hopeless world, traces of her identity pierce the surface of her everyday life, leading gradually to a discovery that will change her destiny. She has a secret crush on Victor, an intense young man who as an impoverished student befriended her family long ago. Years later, when Natalia is in her early twenties and working at a warehouse packing fruit, she and Victor, now an important official in the Communist regime, cross paths again. This time they are fatefully drawn into a passionate affair despite the obstacles swirling around them and Victor's dark secrets. When Natalia is suddenly offered a one-time chance at freedom, Victor is determined to help her escape, even if it means losing her. Natalia must make an agonizing decision: remain in Bucharest with her beloved adoptive parents and the man she has come to love, or seize the chance to finally live life on her own terms, and to confront the painful enigma of her past.

x-large
Author(s): Roxanne Veletzos
Original Publish Date: Oct 09, 2018

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Roxanne Veletzos
Narrator(s): Cassandra Campbell
Product Number DD40235
Released: Oct 09, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781508268697
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Roxanne Veletzos
Product Number EB00724654
Released: Oct 09, 2018
Business Term: 1 Year
Publisher: Atria Books
ISBN: #9781501187704

Sign up for our email newsletter