The Golden Child

When online bullying spirals out of control who is to blame?
x-large
Author(s): Wendy James
Original Publish Date: Oct 02, 2018
Product Number: EB00748292
Released: Jan 11, 2019
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781510737938
Publisher: Skyhorse
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A finalist for the 2017 Ned Kelly Award For readers of Zoje Stage's Baby Teeth, a gripping psychological thriller that asks the question: Can a child be born evil? Beth Mahony is a stay-at-home mother of two daughters, Lucy and Charlotte. She's also a blogger, whose alter ego, Lizzie, paints a picture of a busy, happy life. Originally from Australia, Beth and her family have lived in New Jersey for ten years. When an opportunity to relocate to Australia arises, the Mahonys decide to return to their native country. The move comes at the perfect time: Charlotte, the youngest daughter, has been accused of being the ringleader of a clique of girls whose dangerous initiation rites leave a child in hospital. In Newcastle, Lucy and Charlotte attend a prestigious all-girls school, and Beth and her husband gradually settle into their new life. The almost immediately popular Charlotte is thrust back into the spotlight when she is blamed for bullying a classmate to the point of suicide. With Charlotte refusing to take the blame, the bullied child's parents seeking retribution, and her husband and mother-in-law doubting Charlotte's innocence, Beth is forced to examine her children's actions critically—at a heartbreaking cost. The Golden Child tells the story of two families' heartbreaking realization that there are no guarantees when it comes to parenting. The novel grapples with modern-day specters of selfies, selfishness, and cyber bullying to expose the complex anxieties of the female psyche.

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Wendy James
Narrator(s): Candice Moll
Product Number BN13695
Released: Sep 30, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
ISBN: #9781978648487

Sign up for our email newsletter