The Beekeeper's Lament

How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (7.10 hours)
Product Number: Z100116701
Released: May 17, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781515926917
Narrator/s: Xe Sands
Publisher: Tantor Media, Inc
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Award-winning journalist Hannah Nordhaus tells the remarkable story of John Miller, one of America's foremost migratory beekeepers, and the myriad and mysterious epidemics threatening American honey bee populations. In luminous, razor-sharp prose, Nordhaus explores the vital role that honey bees play in American agribusiness, the maintenance of our food chain, and the very future of the planet. With an intimate focus and incisive reporting, in a book perfect for fans of Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation, Michael Pollan's The Botany of Desire, and John McPhee's Oranges, Nordhaus's stunning expose illuminates one of the most critical issues facing the world today, offering insight, information, and, ultimately, hope.

x-large
Author(s): Hannah Nordhaus
Original Publish Date: May 17, 2016

This title is part of (or scheduled to be part of) the following subscriptions:

RBdigital Unlimited Access Audio Subscription - Tantor titles
RBdigital Audio Pay Per Circ Subscription - Tantor Titles

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Hannah Nordhaus
Narrator(s): Xe Sands
Product Number DD25889
Released: May 17, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Tantor Media, Inc
ISBN: #9781515906919
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Hannah Nordhaus
Genre: Science
Product Number EB00299662
Released: Apr 21, 2014
Business Term: 26 Circ
ISBN: #9780062079428

Professional reviews

"Xe Sands gives voice to this in-depth look at the plight of an American migratory beekeeper. The author tells the story of John Miller, one of the foremost beekeepers in the field, with an investigator's probe and a consumer's fascination. Sands adds to that mix with a tender respect for the man and his productive insects. She paces her reading of this in a way that evokes the isolated and wide-open environment of North Dakota. Author's and narrator's combined efforts make beekeeping a fascinating topic, if not quite an alluring profession. Listeners interested in the environment or the state of agriculture and food production will find much to enjoy in this insightful audiobook. J.F. © AudioFile 2016, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter