Jubilee

CD - unabridged
Audio (3 discs)
Product Number: DD28268
Released: Sep 13, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781520047256
Narrator/s: Laural Merlington
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Newbery Honor-winning author Patricia Reilly Giff writes a tender, timeless story about a girl who stopped speaking long ago, and how she finds her way back to her voice. For fans of Listening for Lucca, Fish in a Tree, The Rules, and Mockingbird. Judith lives with her beloved aunt Cora and her faithful Dog on a beautiful island. Years ago, when her mother left, Judith stopped talking. Now she communicates entirely through gestures and taps, and by drawing cartoons, speaking only when she's alone-or with Dog. This year, Judith faces a big change-leaving her small, special classroom for a regular fifth-grade class. She likes her new teacher, and finds a maybe-friend in a boy named Mason. But Jubilee's wandering feet won't stop until they find her mother. And now she discovers that her mother has moved back to the mainland, nearby. If Jubilee finds her, will her mother's love be what she needs to speak again?

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Product Number EB00633625
Released: Sep 13, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Wendy Lamb Books
ISBN: #9780385744881

Professional reviews

"Narrator Laural Merlington quickly establishes Judith's longing for her mother. Revealing Judith's emotions is crucial to the story of the fifth grader, who hasn't spoken since toddlerhood. That's when Judith's young mother left her with caring Aunt Cora. Equally important is Merlington's successful rendering of the tenderness of those around Judith. Their comments contrast with how Judith sees her reality. Merlington gives strength to Aunt Cora's expressions of having received a "jubilee" in being able to raise Judith. And she makes the affection of Cora's boyfriend and an admiring classmate just as evident. Listeners will understand the inaccuracy of Judith's perceptions long before she does. It's not a surprise when her mother's flightiness is exposed or when Judith's strength and self-sufficiency come through in difficult situations. S.W. © AudioFile 2017, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter