The Murderer's Ape

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (13.77 hours)
Product Number: Z100117235
Released: Jan 24, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781524722593
Narrator/s: Kimberly Farr
Publisher: Listening Library
Please log in to view pricing


"This may be the most charming book I've read all year."-The New York Times "I don't know when I last read a book with such pure and unalloyed pleasure."-Philip Pullman, internationally bestselling author of The Golden Compass and The Book of Dust Winner of the Mildred L. Batchelder award, this is a captivating story about dark truths and heinous crimes as well as unexpected friendships, with detailed black-and-white illustrations throughout. Perfect for fans of Brian Selznick and mystery and detective stories. Sally Jones is not only a loyal friend, she's an extraordinary individual. In overalls or in a maharaja's turban, this unique gorilla moves among humans without speaking but understanding everything. She and the Chief are devoted comrades who operate a cargo boat. A job they are offered pays big bucks, but the deal ends badly, and the Chief is falsely convicted of murder. For Sally Jones this is the start of a harrowing quest for survival and to clear the Chief's name. Powerful forces are working against her, and they will do anything to protect their secrets.

Author(s): Jakob Wegelius
Original Publish Date: Jan 24, 2017

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

Author(s): Jakob Wegelius
Product Number EB00670324
Released: Jan 24, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Delacorte Press
ISBN: #9781101931776

Professional reviews

"Kimberly Farr convincingly renders every accent and personality of the many diverse characters in this unusual novel. In 1904, Sally Jones, a gorilla who can read and write, is caged until compassionate sea captain Henry Koskela purchases her. Farr's Sally Jones is fully believable as she recounts her story on an Underwood typewriter. When Koskela is falsely imprisoned for murder in Lisbon, Sally Jones works to prove his innocence, with the help of kind friends. Especially noteworthy are Farr's voice and accents for a factory worker who introduces Sally Jones to an Italian luthier. Listeners will be riveted as Sally Jones endures imprisonment and betrayal when she travels to India to find the real murderer. S.G.B. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award © AudioFile 2017, Portland, Maine"

Stay up-to-date with Recorded Books news