Hullmetal Girls

Product Number: EB00714594
Released: Jul 17, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781524770211
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"Filled with badass girls and epic adventures" (Buzzfeed), Hullmetal Girls is "a little Ender's Game, a little Hunger Games, [and] a little Battlestar Gallactica." (NPR) Don't miss the novel that New York Times bestselling author Beth Revis says "you will devour in one sitting," perfect for fans of Pierce Brown and the Illuminae series. Aisha Un-Haad would do anything for her family. When her brother contracts a plague, she knows her janitor's salary isn't enough to fund his treatment. So she volunteers to become a Scela, a mechanically enhanced soldier sworn to protect and serve the governing body of the Fleet, the collective of starships they call home. If Aisha can survive the harrowing modifications and earn an elite place in the Scela ranks, she may be able to save her brother. Key Tanaka awakens in a Scela body with only hazy memories of her life before. She knows she's from the privileged end of the Fleet, but she has no recollection of why she chose to give up a life of luxury to become a hulking cyborg soldier. If she can make it through the training, she might have a shot at recovering her missing past. In a unit of new recruits vying for top placement, Aisha's and Key's paths collide, and the two must learn to work together-a tall order for girls from opposite ends of the Fleet. But a rebellion is stirring, pitting those who yearn for independence from the Fleet against a government struggling to maintian unity. With violence brewing and dark secrets surfacing, Aisha and Key find themselves questioning their loyalties. They will have to put aside their differences, though, if they want to keep humanity from tearing itself apart. A Boston Globe Best Book of the Year A Paste Best Book of the Year "Hullmetal Girls has everything I love in a space opera: deep faith, high stakes, endless questions about humanity, and a cast that shows the best (and less-best) of what we might become." -E.K. Johnston, #1 New York Times bestselling author of That Inevitable Victorian Thing "A book you will devour in one sitting, Hullmetal Girls is not to be missed!"-Beth Revis, New York Times bestselling author of A World Without You and Across the Universe "From the badass cybernetics to the space opera politics, there is so much to adore about Hullmetal Girls. It's a captivating sci-fi adventure that will make you fall madly for Skrutski's fabulous writing, if you haven't already. [Perfect] for fans of: Cindy Pon (Want) and Pierce Brown (Red Rising)."-Paste "An unexpected and clever story that is difficult to put down. Skrutskie's cast of characters, including the adults, is very well developed...[as they] unravel the mystery at the heart of their society...A great science fiction story."-VOYA, Starred Review "Near perfection."-Bulletin "[An] exciting standalone...full of shifting allegiances...[and] ethnically diverse main characters with a range of sexual identities."-SLJ "An engaging narrative with a complex cast that int

x-large
Author(s): Emily Skrutskie
Original Publish Date: Jul 17, 2018

Sign up for our email newsletter