Chemistry

A novel
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (4.88 hours)
Product Number: Z100120268
Released: May 23, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781524781361
Narrator/s: Julia Whelan
Publisher: Books on Tape
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Named by The Washington Post as a Notable Work of Fiction in 2017 and by Entertainment Weekly as a Best Debut Novel of 2017 Named a Best Book of 2017 by NPR, Ann Patchett on PBS NewsHour, Minnesota Public Radio, Maris Kreizman, and The Morning News National Book Foundation "5 Under 35" Honoree Longlisted for the Aspen Words Literary Prize A luminous coming-of-age novel about a young female scientist who must recalibrate her life when her academic career goes off track; perfect for readers of Lab Girl and Celeste Ng's Everything I Never Told You. Three years into her graduate studies at a demanding Boston university, the unnamed narrator of this nimbly wry, concise debut finds her one-time love for chemistry is more hypothesis than reality. She's tormented by her failed research—and reminded of her delays by her peers, her advisor, and most of all by her Chinese parents, who have always expected nothing short of excellence from her throughout her life. But there's another, nonscientific question looming: the marriage proposal from her devoted boyfriend, a fellow scientist, whose path through academia has been relatively free of obstacles, and with whom she can't make a life before finding success on her own. Eventually, the pressure mounts so high that she must leave everything she thought she knew about her future, and herself, behind. And for the first time, she's confronted with a question she won't find the answer to in a textbook: What do I really want? Over the next two years, this winningly flawed, disarmingly insightful heroine learns the formulas and equations for a different kind of chemistry—one in which the reactions can't be quantified, measured, and analyzed; one that can be studied only in the mysterious language of the heart. Taking us deep inside her scattered, searching mind, here is a brilliant new literary voice that astutely juxtaposes the elegance of science, the anxieties of finding a place in the world, and the sacrifices made for love and family.

x-large
Author(s): Weike Wang
Original Publish Date: May 23, 2017

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Weike Wang
Product Number EB00686034
Released: May 23, 2017
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Vintage
ISBN: #9781524731755

Sign up for our email newsletter