If This Were a Story

x-large
Author(s): Beth Turley
Original Publish Date: Aug 28, 2018
Product Number: EB00724721
Released: Aug 28, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781534420632
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"An imaginative debut." —Booklist "Hannah's growth is organic and well earned." —Publishers Weekly In the tradition of Crenshaw and The Thing About Jellyfish, ten-year-old Hannah copes with the bullies at school and troubles at home through the power of stories in this sweet and sincere debut. Tenacious. That means strong-willed. My mother calls me that. I wish I felt the same way. If this were a story, I would discover I was a direct descendent of a famous soldier who won countless battles and protected hundreds of people. This resilience running through my veins wouldn't be damaged by the notes; it would fight off bullies and prevent my parents from yelling at each other. But this is not a story. This is real life. My life as ten-year-old Hannah Geller, who is the only girl in fifth grade to have little red bumps on her face, is unable to let the sad thoughts escape her mind, and leaves heads-up pennies wherever she can to spread good luck. And who also finds magic in the most unlikely of places.

You can find this title in the following lists:

Sign up for our email newsletter