Moving the Palace

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (5.87 hours)
Product Number: Z100122610
Released: Apr 11, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781538415078
Narrator/s: Jonathan Davis
Please log in to view pricing

Description

At the dawn of the twentieth century, a young Lebanese adventurer leaves the Levant to explore the wilds of Africa, encountering an eccentric English colonel in Sudan and enlisting in his service. In this lush chronicle of far-flung adventure, the military recruit crosses paths with a compatriot who has dismantled a sumptuous palace in Tripoli and is transporting it across the continent on a camel caravan. The protagonist soon takes charge of this hoard of architectural fragments, ferrying the dismantled landmark through Sudan, Egypt and the Arabian Peninsula, attempting to return to his native Beirut with this moveable real estate. Along the way, he encounters skeptic sheikhs, suspicious tribal leaders, bountiful feasts, pilgrims bound for Mecca and T. E. Lawrence in a tent. This is a captivating modern-day Odyssey in the tradition of Bruce Chatwin and Paul Theroux.

x-large
Author(s): Charif Majdalani
Original Publish Date: Apr 11, 2017

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
Moving the Palace
Product Number: BX00062266
Product Number:DD31737
Product Number:Z100122610

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Charif Majdalani
Narrator(s): Jonathan Davis
Product Number DD31737
Released: Apr 11, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781538415030

Sign up for our email newsletter