The Jane Austen Project

CD - unabridged
Audio (9 discs)
Product Number: DD31451
Released: May 02, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781538417782
Narrator/s: Saskia Maarleveld
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel. London, 1815: Two travelers—Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane—arrive in a field in rural England, disheveled and weighed down with hidden money. Turned away at a nearby inn, they are forced to travel by coach all night to London. They are not what they seem, but rather colleagues who have come back in time from a technologically advanced future, posing as wealthy West Indies planters—a doctor and his spinster sister. While Rachel and Liam aren't the first team from the future to "go back," their mission is by far the most audacious: meet, befriend, and steal from Jane Austen herself. Carefully selected and rigorously trained by The Royal Institute for Special Topics in Physics, disaster-relief doctor Rachel and actor-turned-scholar Liam have little in common besides the extraordinary circumstances they find themselves in. Circumstances that call for Rachel to stifle her independent nature and let Liam take the lead as they infiltrate Austen's circle via her favorite brother, Henry. But diagnosing Jane's fatal illness and obtaining an unpublished novel hinted at in her letters pose enough of a challenge without the continuous convolutions of living a lie. While her friendship with Jane deepens and her relationship with Liam grows complicated, Rachel fights to reconcile the woman she is with the proper lady nineteenth-century society expects her to be. As their portal to the future prepares to close, Rachel and Liam struggle with their directive to leave history intact and exactly as they found it…however heartbreaking that may prove.

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
The Jane Austen Project
Product Number: BX00061830
Product Number:Z100120059
Product Number:DD31451

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Kathleen A. Flynn
Narrator(s): Saskia Maarleveld
Product Number Z100120059
Released: May 02, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062674074
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Kathleen A. Flynn
Product Number EB00682612
Released: May 02, 2017
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Harper Perennial
ISBN: #9780062651266

Sign up for our email newsletter