False Dawn

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (2.13 hours)
Product Number: Z100128471
Released: Aug 25, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781538477946
Narrator/s: Sir Derek Jacobi
Please log in to view pricing


The first of four novellas, together called Old New York, set in the mid-1800s. Lewis Raycie is sent on a grand tour of Europe with instructions from his father to acquire a collection of accepted Art Works. His father's dream is to own a Raphael; instead, Lewis returns with a priceless collection of Renaissance masterpieces by Piero della Francesca and others of equal stature. They are, however, unknown in America. His father is appalled and disinherits him. His family ridicules him. But it is only after Lewis dies that the magnificent collection gets the recognition it really deserves.

Author(s): Edith Wharton
Series: Old New York
Genre: Classics
Original Publish Date: Jun 07, 2017

Sign up for our email newsletter