Second Violin

Author(s): John Lawton
Series: Inspector Troy Series No: 6
Original Publish Date: May 08, 2018
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (15.28 hours)
Product Number: Z100131139
Released: May 08, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781538493700
Narrator/s: Lewis Hancock
Please log in to view pricing


The sixth installment in the Inspector Troy series, Lawton's novel opens in 1938 with Europe on the brink of war. In London, Frederick Troy, newly promoted to the prestigious Murder Squad at Scotland Yard, is put in charge of rounding up a list of German and Italian "enemy aliens" that also includes Frederick's brother, Rod, who learns upon receiving an internment letter that despite having grown up in England he is Austrian born. Hundreds of men are herded by train to a neglected camp on the Isle of Man. And, as the bombs start falling on London, a murdered rabbi is found, then another, and another. Amidst great war, murder is what matters. Moving from the Nazi-infested alleys of prewar Vienna to the bombed-out streets of 1940 London, and featuring an extraordinary cast of characters, Lawton's latest brings to life war-torn London. In this uncommon thriller, John Lawton delivers a suspenseful and intelligent novel, as good a spy story as it is a historical narrative.

All formats/editions

Author(s): John Lawton
Product Number EB00645677
Released: Mar 11, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Grove Atlantic
ISBN: #9781555848620

Sign up for our email newsletter