The Sky at Our Feet

x-large
Author(s): Nadia Hashimi
CD - unabridged
Audio (6 discs)
Product Number: DD35167
Released: Mar 06, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781538500712
Narrator/s: Kirby Heyborne
Please log in to view pricing

Description

This #ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Hashimi tells the affecting story of an Afghan-American boy who believes his mother has been deported. For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Counting by 7s. Jason has just learned that his Afghan mother has been living illegally in the United States since his father was killed in Afghanistan. Although Jason was born in the US, itA??s hard to feel American now when heA??s terrified that his mother will be discoveredA??and that they will be separated. When he sees his mother being escorted from her workplace by two officers, Jason feels completely alone. He boards a train with the hope of finding his aunt in New York City, but as soon as he arrives in Penn Station, the bustling city makes him wonder if heA??s overestimated what he can do. After an accident lands him in the hospital, Jason finds an unlikely ally in a fellow patient. Max, a whip-smart girl who wants nothing more than to explore the world on her own terms, joins Jason in planning a daring escape out of the hospital and into the skyscraper jungleA??even though they both know that no matter how big New York City is, they wonA??t be able to run forever.

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Nadia Hashimi
Narrator(s): Kirby Heyborne
Product Number Z100126839
Released: Mar 06, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: #9780062821065
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Nadia Hashimi
Product Number EB00706063
Released: Mar 06, 2018
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: #9780062421951

Professional reviews

"Kirby Heyborne, the perfect choice to narrate this timely, heart-wrenching story, embodies the voice Jason D, born in America to an Afghani mother and an Afghani journalist father killed while working for the Americans during the war. Heyborne's ability to get inside the the head of Jason and sound like a twelve-year-old boy brings this story to life. When Jason witnesses his mother being taken from work by authorities, Heyborne relates his inner dialog with a believable mixture of panic, fear, and a deep-seated determination set things right. We are inside Jason's head as he instinctively heads to NYC to find Auntie Seema, cautiously forms an alliance with Max. a girl with her own secrets, and ultimately finds a hopeful future. N.E.M. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award © AudioFile 2018, Portland, Maine"