Speak No Evil

CD - unabridged
Audio (5 discs)
Product Number: DD35123
Released: Mar 06, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781538502334
Please log in to view pricing

Description

In the long-anticipated novel from the author of the critically acclaimed Beasts of No Nation, a revelation shared between two privileged teenagers from very different backgrounds sets off a chain of events with devastating consequences. On the surface, Niru leads a charmed life. Raised by two attentive parents in Washington, D.C., he's a top student and a track star at his prestigious private high school. Bound for Harvard in the fall, his prospects are bright. But Niru has a painful secret: he is queer-an abominable sin to his conservative Nigerian parents. No one knows except Meredith, his best friend, the daughter of prominent Washington insiders-and the one person who seems not to judge him. When his father accidentally discovers Niru is gay, the fallout is brutal and swift. Coping with troubles of her own, however, Meredith finds that she has little left emotionally to offer him. As the two friends struggle to reconcile their desires against the expectations and institutions that seek to define them, they find themselves speeding toward a future more violent and senseless than they can imagine. Neither will escape unscathed. In the tradition of Junot Diaz's The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Americanah, Speak No Evil explores what it means to be different in a fundamentally conformist society and how that difference plays out in our inner and outer struggles. It is a novel about the power of words and self-identification, about who gets to speak and who has the power to speak for other people. As heart-wrenching and timely as his breakout debut, Beasts of No Nation, Uzodinma Iweala's second novel cuts to the core of our humanity and leaves us reeling in its wake.

x-large
Author(s): Uzodinma Iweala

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
Speak No Evil
Product Number: BX00068498
Product Number:Z100126818
Product Number:DD35123

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Uzodinma Iweala
Product Number Z100126818
Released: Mar 06, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062798961
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Uzodinma Iweala
Product Number EB00706056
Released: Mar 06, 2018
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Harper
ISBN: #9780062199096

Sign up for our email newsletter