90s Bitch

Media, Culture, and the Failed Promise of Gender Equality
CD - unabridged
Audio (9 discs)
Product Number: DD37841
Released: Jun 19, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781538550168
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Perfect for fans of Peggy Orenstein, Rebecca Traister, and Lindy West, this incisive, timely book pierces our nostalgic 1990s "girl power" bubble to reveal a decade that drastically undermined a century of gains for American women, creating a toxic culture that persists today.The close of the twentieth century promised a new era of gender equality. However, the iconic women of the 1990s-such as Hillary Clinton, Courtney Love, Roseanne Barr, Marcia Clark, and Anita Hill-earned their places in history not as trailblazers, but as whipping girls of the media. During this decade, American society grew increasingly hostile to women who dared to speak up, challenge power, or defy rigid expectations for female behavior.Deeply researched yet thoroughly engaging, 90s Bitch untangles the complex history of women in the 1990s, exploring how they were maligned by the media, vilified by popular culture, and objectified in the marketplace. In an age where even a presidential nominee can be derided as a "nasty woman," it's clear that the epidemic of casting women as bitches persists. To understand why we must take a long, hard look back at the 1990s-a decade in which female empowerment was twisted into bitchification and exploitation.Yarrow's thoughtful, clear-eyed, and timely examination is a must-read for anyone seeking to understand gender politics and how we might end the "bitch epidemic" for the next generation.

x-large
Author(s): Allison Yarrow

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Allison Yarrow
Narrator(s): Allison Yarrow
Product Number Z100129691
Released: Jun 19, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062791351
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Allison Yarrow
Product Number EB00700769
Released: Jun 19, 2018
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Harper Perennial
ISBN: #9780062412355

Sign up for our email newsletter